About the Chief

Michael J. Ciraulo

Michael Ciraulo has 30 years experience in the field of emergency response. He currently serves as the Fire Chief for Pendleton Fire and Ambulance.  His formal education includes an Associates Degree in Fire Science from Portland Community College and a Bachelors Degree in Business Management and Communications from Concordia University. Additionally, Ciraulo completed the National Fire Academy’s Executive Fire Officer Program in 2005 and has received his Chief Fire Officer designation from the Commission on Professional Credentialing.  Prior to working for the city of Pendleton, Ciraulo worked for Clark County (WA) Fire & Rescue, the city of Santa Ana (CA) Fire Department, and the Orange County (CA) Fire Department.

Ciraulo is an accredited Fire Service Instructor and has taught for Portland Community College, Lower Columbia College, the National Fire Academy, United States Fire Administration and the National Wildfire Coordinating Group.  He is presently qualified as a National Type 2 Incident Commander.  He has served as an Operations Section Chief/Incident Commander for a Washington State Incident Management Team for 10 years, and has managed large scale emergencies in nearly every western state, including wildland fires, multi-alarm structure fires, 1996 western Washington flooding, and the 1992 Los Angeles Riots.

In addition to his professional emergency response experience, Ciraulo served for 12 years on the Battle Ground City Council as both Councilmember and as the Mayor.  He was previously appointed by the Governor of Washington state to serve on the Board of Trustees for Clark College, the State Fire Protection Policy Board, the Special License Plate Commission, and the Higher Education Facilities Authority. 

Other honors include being awarded a Paul Harris Fellowship by his fellow members of his Rotary Club, and the YWCA Val Joshua racial justice award for his work with the Battle Ground Cultural Task Force.  Ciraulo and his wife Gilda were recognized as the “2007 Battle Ground Citizens of the Year”.