Housing Committee


Formed by Ordinance No. 3900, the Housing and Neighborhood Improvement Committee (known as the Housing Committee) has 12-14 members appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the Council; composed of the following members:

  • CAPECO representative
  • GEODC representative
  • Energy Trust of Oregon representative
  • Landlord or property manager
  • Building contractor
  • Financier
  • Realtor/Real Estate Agent
  • RCDC representative
  • City Council/PDC member
  • 3 – 5 at-large representatives of other interests.

Formerly known as the "Restore Pendleton Committee", the Housing Committee has the following responsibilities:

  • Formulate and recommend policy to the Council on housing and community revitalization programs and implementation methods and procedures.Such policies and programs may include, but is not limited to:
  • Develop resources for property owners and builders, such as programs providing assistance with weatherization and property renovation, and maintaining a list of buildable lots.
  • Identify or support funding for a RARE intern to assist with work on housing initiatives.
  • Consider ways to provide funding or incentives to assist home buyers and builders.
  • Work with Energy Trust to promote energy efficiency programs and incentives.
  • Continue the work of the Restore Pendleton Committee on neighborhood revitalization and anti-blight campaigns.
  • Support, and promote advancing the work of Code Enforcement.
  • Work with other agencies such as CAPECO, Oregon Housing and Community Services, EOCI work crew, Umatilla County, USDA Rural Development, rental associations and Regional Solutions to develop and leverage programs in support of homeowners, landlords, builders and contractors working on property or neighborhood revitalization efforts.
  • Increase marketing efforts to recruit builders of entry-level homes such as townhouses and duplexes.
  • Develop and/or promote other resources or programs such as home shows, education for first time home buyers, and programs that subsidize costs of home renovations through donations by wholesalers like Home Depot or paint suppliers.
  • Assist in the preparation of any/all City funding applications, including Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) for housing rehabilitation, or such other grant or loan programs recommended to accomplish housing goals.Work with agencies such as RCDC to establish revolving loan fund to help builders/owners construct new housing or renovate existing houses and apartments.
  • Monitor and evaluate planning, programming and implementation of community housing activities.Report to City Council as needed or requested.
  • Work with any staff assigned to assist with implementation of housing programs.
  • Serve as a source for citizen input and participation in the program.

Meeting Agendas and Minutes are available online via the links below:

Housing Committee Agendas

Housing Committee Minutes